Weekly Blues turned to Weekend Fun!

18 Apr

The weekend is slowly approaching and I know you all are just as excited as I am. The week was tough for me, & I can’t wait to do what it is I want to do all weekend. Which means work, getting up early, & homework is nowhere on the agenda. This is both good and bad. Good because I get to finally catch my breath & bad because I’ll be so relaxed that when its time to get back on track (Monday will be here soon as at blink my eyes), I’ll be back in a rut. Hard work pays off, right?

My schedule for this weekend is loaded, which means I get to style & profile. I have a few outfits in mind, but I’m still a little unsure. The weather here in Philly has been beautiful all week, & as you know I haven’t been able to embrace it due to school and work. Grey scrubs & black sneakers or hunter green Danskos are just not Spring attire, & I haven’t found a convincing way to present this to my boss.

20130418-120644.jpg
please, excuse the mix match socks & the face…haaha..

On to better things… I’ve order 2 new fits. & I think they’ll make their debut this weekend. I scored some great deals also, so I have room to throw in my weekly retail therapy for next week (cause I know its going to be a mess times a thousand!)

20130418-121414.jpg

Outfit #1
Cropped Top & Skirt TopShop
Shoes Zara

Outfit #2
Shirt River Island
Pants Kohls (Rock & Rupublic on SALE $18!!)
Shoes Zara

As you can see in outfit #2 I’m mixing prints. Do you remember what I said in my previous post about print mixing? Sty(LUX) Chronicles: Floral + Leopard Well this is the perfect example. Just like leopard, black & white (whether its stripes, plaid, or polka dot), it plays the role of a neutral. Just don’t be afraid, but don’t force it on yourself either. This example of mixing is really bold, so if your a beginner, start with maybe plaid bottoms & a leopard clutch or bag. Take steps, soon you’ll be the epitome of print mixing!

5 Responses to “Weekly Blues turned to Weekend Fun!”

  1. Mo @whoisthatgirlmo April 19, 2013 at 2:25 am #

    Love the first outfit! And you know I love me some stripes! 🙂

    Mo

    • styluxbykjay April 19, 2013 at 10:43 am #

      Yess you do!! Have no stripes in my closet. So I. Somewhat O.D. On stripes !! Lol

  2. ladymorganlafey April 19, 2013 at 3:10 am #

    The first outfit is fab! I love the crop top skirt trend. So cute! Enjoy your weekend!

    • styluxbykjay April 19, 2013 at 10:44 am #

      Yes, this trend has def made me commit to my crunches & squats. Love it !

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cropped Top Diaries : Look #1 | styluxbykjay - June 13, 2013

    […] favorite celebrities, & top designers all understand & love this trend. In an earlier post view here, I put together this monochromatic striped cropped top & skirt found at Top Shop & […]

Leave a Reply

